How can I restrict who has access to my Shared Library and whether they can share and duplicate it?

Owners of Shared Libraries are able to set various permissions to determine who has access to their library and how they can interact with it.

Before we start, there are three ways a user can gain access to a Shared Library and/or its content:
  • The Shared Library is installed on an NPD master dashboard in an unlocked or locked tab.  In this case, the subscriber has a copy of the actual app on their dashboard and can search the content of it with the library: operator.
  • The Shared Library is installed on an NPD master dashboard in library tab.  In this case, the subscriber does not have a copy of the actual app on their dashboard but can search the content of it with the library: operator.
  • The Shared Library is shared with a subscriber via a share link.  In this case, the subscriber has a copy of the actual app on their dashboard and can search the content of it with the library: operator.

These settings are available by going to the Edit screen for the Library:


Click Next to get to the permissions settings.

The permissions are split into two:
  • Who can access the Library
  • Whether those users can share or duplicate the Library


The access settings behave as follows:

  • Public: Any user across all of netvibes.com (or across the instance in the case of NFE) can access the Shared Library.
  • NPD only: The Shared Library can only be accessed in the context of the Premium Dashboard it is created on.  So if the Library is created on mydashboard.netvibesbusiness.com, it can be only accessed on this same dashboard, whether that is on the master dashboard or a copy.
  • Private: The Shared Library can only be accessed on the specific instance of the dashboard it is created on.  This means that a Shared Library created on an NPD master dashboard cannot be accessed on copies of the same dashboard.
The functional settings behave as follows:
  • Subscriber can share the library: When this option is set to true, the Subscriber has a link available on their copy of the library which allows them to share the Shared Library with other users.
  • Subscriber can duplicate the library: When this option is set to true, the Subscriber has a link on their copy of the library which allows them to duplicate the Library.  The resulting duplicate is an exact replica of the original library but the subscriber becomes the owner of this new library and is able to edit the sources it contains as well as the permissions.  Changes to the duplicate do not affect the original Shared Library.


Feedback and Knowledge Base